Two Years Out of Jail

I survey how yoga helped my emotional recovery on this special anniversary.

Most yoga articles provide some vague ideas of the benefits of yoga.

My perspective, however, is quite different. I came to yoga from a place of total emotional wreckage, and it helped me find solace and I have discovered the true origins of happiness.

What It Means To Be A Criminal

Now that society classifies ME as a criminal, rather than my action as criminal… many people would put me in the category of one of the bad guys, rather then categorizing my behavior.

This classification has effectively isolated me from society, from my family, and from the group of people I once considered friends. I transitioned from being a loner to being utterly alone, and yoga helped me transform my feelings of isolation into an appreciation for solitude.

I Was Always A Loner (And Always Felt Alone)

Anxiety made me a loner through my youth. I misapplied The Law of Attraction and wasn't guided to understand those forces in the world. I believed my emotions were a result of the events happening around me, and that my emotions were based on a genetic set of programming that were beyond my control.

I looked at frustrating circumstances in my life, and those were the reason for my emotions.

For those of you who understand the Law of Attraction, you can see right away that I would live a life of unending frustration if I gave the events outside of myself the power to choose my emotions.

You get what you think about,
want it or not.

Thoughts. Become. Things.

I didn't know this in my youth and I misapplied the law of attraction.

After I crashed my life and was left totally isolated, I turned to yoga and listening to the guided meditations of Dr. Joe Dispenza. For the first time in my life, I had a role model who explained how our emotions affect the world around us. With yoga, I was able to change my brainwave state so that I could model my new guide.

I began practicing changing my brain state and noticing the profound shift in my perspective on the world around me.

Yet, I have decades of practice at being frustrated, anxious, and resentful. So, even two years after I am out of jail, each day I still wake up with that old personality.

Each day, I must overcome that energy state and return my brain and my body to the low beta brain state where I can access the emotions of gratitude, appreciation, and a love for life.

What Yoga Taught Me

Yoga has allowed me to clear the trauma from my past and reset the emotions in my body so that my thinking becomes the source of my emotion rather than the events from without.

I can live with the feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment for a job well done even before the job is finished, and I can put that energy into all of the steps of the project as I move forward.

Just as easily as I can imagine the potential frustrations and difficulties that may come as I move forward in a project, both of these imaginations are totally powerful.

Both of those imaginations will bring the future that is in my mind.

I've broken the loop of looking backwards at my past for the reason of my emotions today. Now I look forward to potential futures and I use that as my reason for my emotions today.

I realize now that whatever I'm practicing in my mind will come to be. My subconscious will be on the watch for those circumstances even if I am not consciously aware. My subconscious will draw me towards those things that I'm thinking about.

You get what you think about, wanted or not.

Now that I've stopped thinking about frustrations in my past, I have less anxiety in the moment, and I can hold the imagined gratitude and satisfaction for a job well done even before the job is completed.

In fact, I now have the skill to feel good while I'm doing things that I don't like doing.

Yoga helps me clear the trauma from my body, and guided meditation after yoga helps me rehearse the emotions for the life I want to feel instead of reflecting on troubles from my past.

Struggling With Emotional Pain?

If you're struggling with anxiety or heartbreak or grief or emotional pain, no matter if you caused it or if somebody else caused it, yoga and guided meditations CAN help you change the wiring in your brain and recover your love for life again.