What Does Yoga Do To Your Brain?

Beginners path to understand the science of yoga and meditation

What Does Yoga Do To Your Brain?

As I turned to Hot Yoga to cope with the ragged emotion of my life crisis, I also invested hours each day studying the brain science work and meditation practices of Dr Joe Dispenza.

I began the beginners path of following his instruction as I followed the breath and movement in a guided Hot Yoga class at my local studio.

Brain Science Of Emotion

Brain science explains the neurological and chemical connection to the thoughts that we think and the emotions those thoughts create.

Through Dr Joe’s work, I gained an intellectual understanding of the limited emotion set available to a person while they are in High-Beta brain wave state. And then, through months of meditation and hundreds of hot yoga classes - I started to release my connection to the emotions of the past.

I started to ‘practice’ feeling good.

I was terrible at it at first.

I deserved to feel bad, I had every reason to cry all day.

I was continually absorbed with the stages of grief. I could not manage my thinking on my own. The yoga classes helped to break the trauma-thinking-loop, if only for a short while.

The Best Yoga Classes For Crisis and Stress

I gravitated to practice with the Yogi's who guided every inhale, every movement, and every exhale through the entire hour.

Without their direction, my thinking instantly returned to the powerful, painful and addictive/obsessive reflection of all the mini-universes of damage and agony in my life.

The only time I could reach for any form of relief was immediately after the deep physical exertion, heat and sweating of the Hot Yoga class.

My mind was calmer, my heart was not as heavy.

That was the time I sat down and followed the guided meditation recordings by Dr Joe. And he guided me to practice the emotions of my future instead of replaying the emotions of my past.

The Big Goal Of Meditation

Dr Joe taught that my goal was to get into Alpha brain wave state, and reprogram the subconscious. I began to realize that Shavasana pose at the end of yoga class - was specially for this purpose… Through hundreds of yoga classes, I created a powerful Ten Class Yoga Meditation sequence that helped me find relief from heartbreak, trauma, sadness and anger.

I began to identify and prune unwanted thoughts and habits of feeling, and to nurture and practice the feelings of the potential futures that are in the possible...

To become aware of the thoughts you are thinking and begin to observe them as a third person without frustration, without resentment.

Dr. Joe’s work provided me with the first practical roll model to guide me in practicing this different state of being.

Rather than matching the circumstances in my life, instead I learned to start matching the feelings of satisfaction of my future self - and feel them now, to build the habits of my future self.

Next Post: Brainwaves, Emotions and States of Consciousness