Yoga For Trauma Survival

When I first began yoga my entire life was in crisis

I first began yoga for trauma survival, and I was especially grateful for guides who provided a form of Moving Meditation within each practice because it left my mind in a deeper state of calm than the fitness-focused Yoga classes.

I started yoga while in great depression. (image by author)

My entire life was in crisis - everyone I loved the most, everything in my daily routine and all my future plans had been abruptly removed and I was alone and profoundly isolated.

This deeper state of calm that I felt after a hot yoga class was a light-house for me... an anchor point... a moment of shelter from the mental and emotional storm that threatened my very existence.

These specific Yoga instructors' guided me into a brain state that I now recognize as Alpha Waves.

Crisis - Open Focus - And The Big Questions

While we are in this Alpha Wave brain state - we are able to ask The Big Questions about our life, our thinking, our habits of emotions and the effect they have on the people and the outside world around us.

Track your meditation and learn to get results faster.

Yoga For Trauma Survival

Each time I finished a Hot Yoga class - I felt like the same person, but tuned to a different radio station… tuned to a different frequency. I left class feeling more calm, centered, and my emotions lifted from despair.

After Hot Yoga, my world view was shifted. For a short while.

But the relief was temporary, and I found myself returning to the yoga studio morning and evening, I was desperate for relief.

The first month I attended 36 classes and in the following two years I attended more than 40 classes each month.

The process of cleansing the body of Post Traumatic Stress of any kind, is gradual and cumulative - and with the intention of the meditative sequences that follow, you can apply science to take control of your subconscious brain to facilitate relief from pain, to speed your recovery from injury, to release the past and actually recapture feelings of gratitude, self respect and even to rekindle your love for life!

I welcome the routine of 6am class or an evening class each day. When my crisis was raw, the morning session helped me approach my day differently than I did in my pre-yoga days - and the evening yoga helps me retire for the evening without the racing thoughts and gut-turning heartbreak of my crisis.

I'd have to say that Yoga saved my life.

I started Hot Yoga as a means of dealing with extreme stress and anxiety. In fact, I was borderline suicidal as a result of unexpected and traumatic changes in my life (that I totally am totally responsible for and unknowingly caused).

It's was traumatic chapter in my life that I would just as soon forget - but there was no way around it... for complete recovery - the only path forward was, and remains to be - through it.

Indeed, the ripples of damage continue to echo into my life. Every relationship I’ve every had has been damaged and every relationship that I will ever have - will also encounter a perspective on the journey that led me here.

Don’t focus on my bumpy road. Focus only on how I was able to find relief, to cope, and to move forward again toward better feeling thoughts and a better feeling life!

Awareness Comes In Stages

For most of my life, I didn't understand the mechanism for changing subconscious habits that I had scripted while I was in my youth. In fact, I regarded my emotional state-of-being as 'me'.

And I struggled mightily.

For decades I searched for solutions. I studied new-age affirmations, The Secret, The Law of Attraction, Psycho Cybernetics, Neuro-Linguistic Programming and on and on... I would see temporary improvements, I made some incremental changes, but in times of stress I always fell back to the base emotional state-of-being.

I was struggling with great effort to shed the anxiety, and I didn't know why it lingered - until recently.

As I came to understand how the trauma is now within my body and not in the circumstances around me, I was able to focus for better results in the Yoga For Trauma Survival classes I attend.

Align your energy with gratitude! (image by author)

Next Posts: I’ve been working a lot with

aligning my magnetic energy centers to invite divine energy, and following that I’ll post about connecting our energy centers with other people and I’ll also talk more about how to direct our positive intentions towards people and even toward our own skill developments!