I Liked My Amazon Book Listing Until I Saw This Report

Why is my Amazon Kindle Book not selling and How I optimized my Amazon KDP Book Listing.

How to recover from a bad start on Amazon KDP (image by author)

I’m pretty excited about the Helium 10 Browser Extension and how it lets me see so much insiders product sales data on Amazon. After learning about Helium10 features for a few days, it was time to use this software on my own book listing.

My book got the worst score possible.

Here’s what I’m doing about it…

My Amazon Book Listing Health Score:

Ouch.

After I took these screenshots, I went and did the dishes, I made a fresh coffee, I went and took a hot shower… brushed and flossed my teeth and put on a load of laundry.

Clearly, I need a new plan of action.

Even if my book sucks and never sells, I don’t want the failure to be because my listing wasn’t filled out correctly!

Besides that - I have at least two more book ideas that are ready to flow so this is a great time to use Helium 10 to the fullest.

Ideas From A Tidy Kitchen

I’ll go back to Amazon Best Sellers and find what is selling best in the meditation, mindfulness, yoga and stress recovery themes.

I’ll use Helium 10 to collect and groups of keywords in one spreadsheet, and

I’ll collect raw book description text in another document.

Later, I’ll process these together in my own writing style and voice using tools like Writesonic or Cohesive AI.

Let’s Check Out Mindfulness

Miracle of Mindfulness (screenshot by author)

Grab a top selling book, and the Cerebro tool helps me find a range of related books so that I can search all of them to gather keyword data!

Mindfulness keyword research with Cerebro tool in Helium 10 (by author)

And when I’ve found my best phrases that bring in the most traffic and searches, I can continue learning more by tracking keywords. I’m keen to see what I’ll learn.

Let’s get some more examples of book sales and dig down into the keywords that are bringing the sales!

This research will

✓. Help shape how I update and fix my own book listing,

✓. Provide me with more of the most keyword powerful phrases that I can begin to write into all of the support articles on my blogs.

Two Groups Of Bestsellers To Note: Old Standards, New Celebrities

First, here are a few old standards. One book earned over $12 Million and the other over $1.4 Million.

Inspiring! And some great keyword data, when you remove all the brand name phrases. Let’s take a quick look at two big hitters, then we’ll get into something that is actually more helpful - the new books that have hit top-selling placements.

Check Out Amazon Best Sellers

Millions of Dollars in Revenue

Here is a top seller making 35k per month revenue for 30 years!

35k per month revenue

30 years x 35k/mo = $12,600,000 revenue

When things fall apart 20k monthly

6 years x 20k/mo = 1,440,000 Revenue

And another book that is pulling in about 20k per month revenue for about 6 years and we can guestimate over $1.4 million in revenue for this book! 😎

These are super inspiring numbers!

I don’t expect that my book will become this great, but I am inspired to learn all I can about how to get my book profile top marks from Helium 10 so that I can provide a real before and after example.

Kindle Direct Publishing A+ Content Required

As I went back to update and improve my book listing, I was not finding where to add additional images.

It took me a bit to stumble through the dry technical details - and I found the A+ Content setup area where I can add new content to my listing and send it out for review and approval.

Slow. But, Ok.

Now I can set Writesonic or Lightmap to create some content from my book highlights, and mix it with the keyword research from the best selling books.

With a quick edit to be sure everything is contextual and true for my approach, I’ll be ready. I can use the bank of midjourney images that I have created around the meditation niche.

The Amazon A+ Content Modules are clean and easy to work with.

Amazon KDP A+ Content Modules (screenshot by author)

Within 30 minutes I was able to pull together some images from the project and I grabbed some quotes from the blog posts that give an overview of the book rather than dedicating time to ensure this listing content is filled with the keywords - I have two more books in the works and I’m building my Helium 10 research into those books from the ground up.

This book was entirely written by pen and paper, then typed into a computer, so there's no easy way to get the best keywords into the book. It is a very naturally written book, so I won’t mess around with it.

Instead, I’ll use that goldmine of Helium 10 research in the production of my next books - and I can keep using my first book listing as a testing ground.

That’s a Good Idea!

In fact, now that I take the time to explain the steps I took to setup my first A+ Content Modules on Amazon KDP, I think I’ll expand more on that concept:

That is, I’ll create a brief of the main chapters, with the headlines and images following the flow of the book.

First test of A+ content posted (screenshot by author)

Pretty good for a start.

Updates To Follow

I’ve sent that in for approval, and I’ll post this update while I wait for Amazon to approve my listing changes.

In the meantime, I’ve got a mind to start testing some book listings on my Etsy Store, where I can make changes to the listing - and test different details - faster.

Be sure to subscribe for the ongoing story!

Namaste my friend,

Jim

Read Next: